Who We are

Members of the Ventura County Deputy Sheriffs’ Association are proud to serve their community when it comes to law enforcement and making Ventura County a safe place to live and raise children. There is much that goes into protecting the communities we live in, but many people only see us as we enforce traffic laws or respond to traffic accidents, a very small portion of our daily activities. Our members are equally proud of the philanthropic efforts made by the VCDSA to enrich our community.

We are committed to keeping kids away from gangs, drugs, and violence, and we are leading the efforts to prevent domestic abuse and human trafficking and provide help to abuse victims.

The VCDSA is pleased to be a sponsor of the Boys & Girls Clubs of Ventura, Santa Clara Valley, Camarillo and Oxnard/Port Hueneme, Ventura County Family Justice Center, our local high schools’ Safe & Sober after-prom parties, and many other vital programs.

Our members have a long history of charitable giving and that spirit continues today. We are extremely grateful to the hundreds of citizens and businesses who have supported these efforts or responded to our requests with contributions, whether large or small, to help us continue to help others.


Our History

The Sheriff’s Employees Association was founded in 1959 as a member benevolent association whose stated purpose was to aid and assist its members and provide educational and recreational opportunities. Over the course of the next 50 years, the Sheriff’s Employees Association became the Ventura County Deputy Sheriffs’ Association (VCDSA) and the recognized collective bargaining unit for Deputy Sheriff Trainees, Sheriff’s Pilots, and all sworn Sheriff’s personnel up to the rank of Sergeant. In addition, the VCDSA is the recognized collective bargaining unit for all “sworn” members of the Ventura County District Attorney’s Bureau of Investigation, up to the rank of Senior Investigator. For over 50 years, VCDSA has represented the front-line protectors keeping Ventura County safe.

Meet Our Board



Victor Flores

Vice President

Shawn Holzberger


Joe Mulrooney



Executive Director

Dan Ambarian


Justin Doering


Chris Obringer




Mackenzie Spears


Virginia Tinoco


Gene Martinez

Director – DAI

Leighton Armstrong

Director – Retirees


Retiree Medical Trust

D’Annah Taday

Benefits Manager

Stephanie Godinez

Member Services Administrator